Ayurveda: The Science of Life

Ayurveda: The Science of Life

Ayurveda is translated as the “Science of Life” where Ayus = Life, and Veda = knowledge/science.


Ayurveda is the Sanskrit word that means the science of life and longevity. It is the Holistic alternative science from India and is more than 5000 years old. It is believed to be the oldest healing science in existence forming the foundation of all others. Buddhism, Taoism, Tibetan and other cultural medicine have many similar parallels to Ayurveda. The secret of Ayurveda’s individualized healing method was preserved in India, whereas it has been lost or superseded in other cultures.

Objective of Ayurveda :

The aims and objectives of this science are to maintain the health of a healthy person and to heal the disease of an  unhealthy person. Both prevention maintenance of good health and healing are carried out by entirely natural means. According to the science of Ayurveda, health is a natural state when there is perfect balance of your body, mind and soul.


Ayurveda believe that everything in the universe dead or alive is connected. If your mind, body, and spirit are in harmony with the universe, you have good health. When something disrupts this balance, you get sick. Among the things that can upset this balance are genetic or birth defects, injuries, climate and seasonal change, age, and your emotions.

Those who practice Ayurveda believe every person is made of five basic elements found in the universe: space, air, fire, water, and earth.

The science of Ayurveda has simplified the organizational layout of the human body into three basic components, Dosha (Body Humours), Dhatu (Tissue) and Mala (Impurities).


Vata dosha:

Vata is a term stemming from the Sanskrit word vayuu, meaning “that which moves.” It is composed of the space and air elements, and is sometimes considered the most influential dosha because it is the moving force behind both pitta and kapha. From its main seat in the colon, vata is believed to promote a healthy balance between thought and emotion, and fuel creativity, activity, and clear comprehension.

Pitta dosha:

Pitta is a term originating from the Sanskrit word pinj, meaning “to shine.” This dosha, which is composed of the fire element, rules digestive, chemical, and metabolic function, and is associated with heat and oiliness. Its main seat is the small intestine, and it is the dosha believed to add luster to the eyes, hair, and skin. In a more figurative sense, pitta also governs our ability to “digest” not only the food stuff but also the concepts and information, which we then use to perceive our world.

Kapha dosha:

Kapha is a term that derives from the Sanskrit word “shlish,” meaning “that which holds things together.” From its main seat in the stomach, this dosha relates to mucous, lubrication, and carrying nutrients into the arterial system. Kapha also governs immunity; Ayurveda teaches that its energy promotes the ongoing processes of self-repair and healing. Composed of the water and earth elements, kapha is also thought to offer endurance and physical and psychological strength and stability, while also promoting positive emotions like love, compassion, empathy, understanding, forgiveness, loyalty, and patience.

Sapta-Dhatu (Seven Body Tissues):

  • Rasa – Final Metabolic Juice and Plasma (Digestive System)
  • Rakta – Blood (Blood Circulatory System)
  • Mamsa – Muscles and Tendons (Muscular System)
  • Med – Fat
  • Majja – Marrow
  • Asthi – Bone (Skeleton)
  • Shukra – Semen Fluid (Reproductive System)


Ayurveda presents unique concept that Malas excretory products of the body should also be considered as essential constituents of living body and they also perform some useful functions to support the body. As such the Malas to some extent also play the role of dhatus as the supporters of the body. The term Mala refers to the polluting agents or impurities and also as the waste products. When the Malas are in the state of normalcy and do not produce a disease or ill health, they are considered as Mala dhatus.

After digestion the digested food is separated into the Prasad which is called Rasa and the Kitta the waste.This Kitta includes the variety of polluting agents produced in the body.Such as shakrit (faeces), Sveda (sweat),Mutra (urine) and even the abnormal forms of Tridosha and Saptadhatu.Charaka describes several types of Malas namely Purisa (stool),Vitsneha (faecal fat), Mutra (urine), Sveda (sweet),Vayu (flatus), Pitta (bile), Khamala, Loma, Kupamala, Kesa (long hair) Loma (small hair), Samshru (beard) and Nakha (nail).

Leave a Reply